The Attah Igala Throne and Igala Kingmakers

HRM Oguche Akpa, son of Attah Okoliko of Ameacho ruling house

By Sule Isa Akagwu Kpaleko

I want to call on the the attention of Igala King makers to kindly borrow ideas from the recent appointment of the emir of Zazzau, Kaduna State. The Kingmakers were fair and just in their recommendation of Alhaji Ahmed Nuhu Bamali as 19th emir of the Kingdom after 100 years of the ruling house.

In a similar development the Aju Ameacho ruling clan has not ascended the thrones for over 100 years. It was on record that Oguche Akpa was the last Attah Igala from the clan between 1911 – 1919 being the 18th Attah from Ayegba – Ameacho Dynasty.

Atta Oguche Akpa’s influence was limited to the present Ofu, Igala Mela/Odolu, Idah and Ibaji local government as a result of an attempt to bulcanize the Igala kingdom way back. The situation did not go down well with him hence he planned and executed the Igala rebellion of 1916-17. He did this from a distance as he feared the colonial officers.

This rebellion was sometimes called the MAHIONU war. Attah Oguche Akpa organised the rebellion with the co-operation of Prince Atabo Ijomi, (who succeeded him as the Attah Igala in 1919), Amanabo Ogili (who later became the Amanata during the reign of Obaje Ocheje, and the Chief Priest of Mahionu spirit.

The result of the rebellion was the reunification of the Igala Kingdom in 1918, and the creation of Igala Native Authority later the same year. Attah Oguche Akpa was the first Attah Igala to rule the Igala Kingdom after the reunification. He appointed Prince Atabo Ijomi as the first district head of Ugwolawo to reward him for his role during the Igala rebellion of 1916-17. He created districts and gago areas in the Kingdom. He died in 1919.

By law, there are Four Ruling Houses of the Atta Igala Dynasty namely

1. Aju Ameacho
2. Aju Akogu
3. Aju Akwu
4. Aju Ocholi
In that order of rotation contained in the gazette.

The Aju Ameacho has produced 4 Attas, and ruled last in 1919 with Opaluwa Oguche Akpa as Attah (101 years ago).

Aju Akwu has produced 5 Attas, ruled last in 2012 with Aliyu Obaje ( 8 years ago)

Aju Akogu has produced 5 Attas and ruled last in 1926 with Atta Atabo Ijomi (94 years)

Aju Ocholi has produced 6 Attas with the last which is Micheal Idakwo Ameh which ruled last in 2020 (0 year )

By equity, fairness and Justice the Aju Ameacho clan is number 1 in the rotation but has produced only 4 Attahs compared to others.

Ameacho clan is the only clan that has stayed longer without producing an Atta(101 years)

The reigns of Ameacho, Onuche, Okoliko and Oguche Akpa had brought immense development and unification to the entire Igala Kingdom. The processes and procedures of ascending the Attah thrones has been gazetted in 2015 by the then Executive Governor of Kogi State to avoid any form of rancor and hatred amongst the various ruling families. I want to call on the Kingmakers to critical study the documents without fear or favor to put an end to deprivation, social inequalities and abuse of Igala history and tradition.



WHATSAPP +447978370636
In this article

Join the Conversation

1 comment

  1. Abdulshakur Reply

    This right up is rich and attention driving. If it’s a written on a fare collected data, I see no reason why our kingmakers should not be keen to the in text recommendation of the writer but, another constraint might be our governor, I pray he wouldn’t be economically and influentially
    driven in his approval after the king makers might have worked justly, as referenced to El-rufa’i.
    God bless IGALA kingdom